I forget now who shared this story with me but at a regional educational gathering, a foreigner shared developments in educational thinking in the developed world and the proceeded to ask the Pacific representatives what the Pacific paradigm was and if there was a shift in thinking. An indignant male PI immediately stood up and said, “I don’t know about you guys but in XXX we don’t have paradigms”.  O.k so at the time I thought it was funny. Then later when I really thought about it I realized the ‘cultural gap’ that is characterized not only by the distancing of education and research from indigenous people’s but the very notion of knowledge and the language of power that defines and expresses it.

And then I got to my own thesis.. so my dear what is your ontological perspective? My what?! Back to the great magical tool of google.. and about 20 articles later.. oh right you mean our understanding of reality and our existence.. hmm.. one reference says it is the study of being.. being what? human? human existence? life in general…

